NEET Full Form and Details in English NEET UG & NEET PG Explaination

NEET Full Form

NEET Full Form and Details in English NEET UG & NEET PG Explaination

NEET Full Form = National Eligibility cum Entrance Test

NEET or National Eligibility cum Entrance Test was started for better medical and dental education in India, the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoHFW) introduced a single entrance examination, namely the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test – a full form of NEET.

Through NEET-UG exam scores, counseling to 15% All India counseling quota seats conducted by Medical Counseling Committee.

NEET Full Form

The major goal of the NEET exam is to simplify the admission procedure for MBBS and BDS programs. Previously, medical students in India had to fill out many applications for various medical entrance tests. As a result, the NEET exam was launched to replace various medical examinations around the country, including AIPMT (All India Pre-Medical Test, National Eligibility cum Entrance Test, established by CBSE and the Medical Council of India) (MCI).

On the other hand, counseling for 85% state admissions and private institutes and organized following by respective state admission committees. The National Eligibility and Entrance Test exam were originally scheduled to begin in 2012. Instead, for various reasons, CBSE and the Medical Council of India postponed it for a year.

History of NEET

NEET began in 2013, when India had a vast number of entrance exams for medical admission, with many institutions and states conducting their exams. As a result, students had to deal with many problems, and there was a lot of corruption in the admissions process.

Keep in mind; NEET introduced the notion of a single entrance exam for the whole country. Because of NEET, medical UG and PG admissions are now done more transparently.

NEET Full Form

The NEET exam was planned for the first time throughout the nation on May 5, 2013, for applicants seeking admission to both undergraduate and postgraduate medicine. Over ten lakh pupils had registered for the first-ever medical examination.

However, on July 18, 2013, the Supreme Court issued a judgment in favor of 115 petitions, canceling the NEET exam and declaring that MCI could not interfere with admission admissions.

Several states, especially Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka, West Bengal, and Tamil Nadu, fiercely opposed the exam, claiming that the syllabus varied greatly.

As a result, the Supreme Court of India deemed the NEET exam illegal in 2012. It was, however, returned on April 11, 2016.

NEET Eligibility Criteria

The National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test will be administered on paper. But, according to the authorities, there are several necessary characteristics that a candidate must meet to sit in the NEET, which stands for National Eligibility Cumulative Entrance Test. So let’s look at what those parameters are:

  1. First, candidates must be Indian citizens.
  2. The aspirant’s age must be at least 17 years old as of Dec 31, 2021, of the year of enrolment.
  3. A class 12th or graduate with an average mark of 50% in physics, Chemistry, Biology or Biotechnology, and English is required.
  4. Candidates from the SC/ST/OBC categories have a bit more wiggle room because the minimum marks necessary to pass Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Biotechnology in the HSC test is 40%.
  5. Because the Supreme Court has yet to rule on the upper age restriction, all candidates can temporarily take the exam.

NEET Exams Criteria

NTA (National Testing Agency) exam is required for admission to Medical Colleges in India. A student’s admission to various government and private medical institutions and courses is determined by his NEET exam result. NEET Full Form

The NEET exam is divided into two parts: NEET UG and NEET PG.


NEET UG is an abbreviation for National Entrance Examination. For admission to undergraduate programs such as MBBS, BDS, and BHMS, NEET-UG is necessary. All medical institutions in India use this entrance exam to enroll students to undergraduate medical programs.

AIIMS and JIPMER are two medical institutions in India that have the authority to hold separate entrance exams. In every medical institution that offers MBBS admission, 85 percent of the seats are reserved for students from that state, with the remaining 15 percent reserved for All India students.

NEET Full Form

NEET UG Required Age & Education Eligibility

Candidates who studied Physics, Biology, and Chemistry in 12th grade and have a twelfth-grade point average of at least 50% are eligible to take the NEET-UG test (40 percent for reserved category). The student must be at least 17 years old to take NEET UG.

NEET UG key points

  • Every year in May, the NEET UG exam is held.
  • This exam is administered using pen and paper, i.e., offline.
  • The total number of marks for the NEET UG exam is 720, and students who score approximately 120 each year are eligible for counseling.
  • This entrance exam has a Rs 1500 application fee.
  • This entrance exam lasts three hours and consists of objective-type questions.
  • This exam also features negative marking, with a score reduced for each incorrect answer.
  • A student must score at least 500 in NEET-UG to get admitted to Government Medical Colleges in India, with minimal tuition rates.
  • NEET UG covers 1174 medical colleges in total.
  • More than 15 lakh students take this entrance exam.
  • This exam offers 92 thousand MBBS seats, 31000 of which are in government medical institutions.


The NEET PG, or Post Graduate Entrance Examination, is held in India for admission to postgraduate programs in medical schools. NEET PG is an abbreviation for National Eligibility and Entrance Test for Postgraduate Studies.

For admission to PG programs (MD, MS) at the Medical College of India, you must write and pass this entrance exam. Students who have completed an MBBS program at an MCI-Recognized Medical Colleges can take this entrance exam.

NEET PG main points

  • Every year, in January, this entrance exam is held online, i.e., computer-based.
  • The National Board of Examination administers this exam.
  • You may only apply for this National Grade Entrance Exam online, and the application cost is Rs 3750.
  • The entrance exam lasts 3 hours and 30 minutes and includes 300 multiple-choice questions and a negative marking scheme.
  • This entrance exam has a total score of 1200, with students earning approximately 400 qualifying.
  • This entrance exam is only available in English.
  • About 1.5 lakh students attend this entrance exam.
  • This entrance exam is attended by around 550 medical institutions, with more than 10,000 seats available.


What is the full meaning of NEET?

NEET stands for National Eligibility Cumulative Entrance Test.

Who is in charge of the NEET?

Ans: The National Testing Agency (NTA) is responsible for administering the National Eligibility and Entrance Test.

Who, and why, introduces NEET in India?

Ans: To improve medical and dental education in India, the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoHFW) administers a single entrance test known as the National Eligibility Cumulative Entrance Test (NEET).

Who is in charge of the NEET admissions counseling?

Ans: Candidates who pass the NEET UG exam are eligible for 15% of All India counseling quota seats administered by the Medical Counseling Committee (MCC) and counseling for 85% of state admissions and private colleges. Following that, the different state admission committees planned the event.

Is 500 on the NEET a decent score?

Ans: Yes, a NEET score of 500 or more will guarantee you a place in a excellent medical institution. NEET Full Form

NTPC Full Form Previous post NTPC Full Form | NTPC & RRB-NTPC Full Details
MLA Full Form Next post MLA Full Form|What is the Full Form of MLA